Department of Zoology

    The Department of Zoology was established in 1st April, 1980.  Dr Kyaw Kyaw Htay, Professor, managed the Department during 1st June 1980 to 27th March 1984. It is located in the right side of the Main building at 4th floor.  Currently, there are 19 academic staff members. Two Professors, Prof. Dr Thanda Tun, Professor/ Head and Prof. Dr Yu Yu Aun are leading the Department.   Four Associate Professors, Dr Naing Naing Aung, Dr Win Win Si, Dr Doris Htun and Dr Ye Ye Lwin are working in the Department. Eight Lecturers, Daw Sanda Myint, Daw Amy Soe, Dr Than Win, Dr May Myat Thu, Dr Khin Myat Kyu, Dr Nyein Myat Aung, U Myo Myo Oo and Daw Zin Mar Oo are employed in the Department.  Two Assistant Lecturers, Dr Latt Latt Htwe and  Daw Win War Nway and three of Demonstrators, Daw Khin Moh Lwin, U Win Thit Oo and U Nay Htet Lin are supporting the Department. The Department offers undergraduate courses for Bachelor of Science Degrees, and postgraduate courses for Master of Science Degrees. During 2018-2019, there were a total 19      graduates and two post graduates.  Currently, total students of students are 125, among them there are 37 First Year students, 42 Second Year students, 21 Third Year students, 15 Fourth Year students, 14 First Year Honous students, 12 Second Year Honous students, 11 Third Year Honous students and 10 MSc students.  Academic and research programmes are being carried out in Zoology Department, Dawei University. The Department has small museum with  academic teaching models and specimens, and a library with various kinds of books.

Currently, the department is collaborating with WCS, WWF and TRIP NET for some research projects.  In these collaboration works, some training courses relate to Bird watching training, insect collection and preservation and biodiversity conservation and biological survey techniques are included.

In Zoology Department, the module number and module name of first semester and second semester are as follows.